TOP 10 CHICK FLICKS FOR SLEEPOVERS

Hey guys,

I’m back with something different today. Since I’m back at home for a few days, I have some time to catch up with my friends or even organise a sleepover. Who cares that we’re almost 20? You can never be too old for a girly sleepover! A sleepover also means (at least for me) a movie night. My best friend and I have our all time favourite films that we are most likely to watch when we crash at her house with a big bowl of popcorn. However, sometimes people cannot decide what to watch or just don’t have any idea. That’s why I wrote down my to-go list of chick flicks for those crazy movie nights! This is all subjective, I know that everybody has different taste, but my list may be helpful for some of you out there, currently planning a sleepover party.:)

These films aren’t in ranking order, I equally love all of them. It is quite short, I could have suggested more because I’m a huge fan of this genre, but these are the ones that first came to my mind.

20370567_1416519345062949_1698089774_n

/ the descriptions are from IMDb /

MAMMA MIA

The story of a bride-to-be trying to find her real father told using hit songs by the popular ’70s group ABBA.

Literally my all time favourite movie! I love the story, the plot, the songs and Amanda Seyfried. 2 years ago in the summer, there was one week when I seriously became addicted to it and watched it 4 times in a week.

THE PRINCESS DIARIES

Mia Thermopolis has just found out that she is the heir apparent to the throne of Genovia. With her friends Lilly and Michael Moscovitz in tow, she tries to navigate through the rest of her 16th year.

This is one of those films that we must watch on our night in with my best friend. I prefer the first, but the second movie is also great!

THE NOTEBOOK

A poor yet passionate young man falls in love with a rich young woman, giving her a sense of freedom, but they are soon separated because of their social differences.

I’m sure I don’t have to mention why The Notebook is on my list. We all love it and we all need to cry our eyes out while watching one of the most romantic movies ever made in history.

MISS CONGENIALITY

An FBI agent must go undercover in the Miss United States beauty pageant to prevent a group from bombing the event.

This is the second movie on our list with my best friend. Sandra Bullock is hilarious!

BRIDGET JONES’S DIARY

A British woman is determined to improve herself while she looks for love in a year in which she keeps a personal diary. And it all starts on Christmas day when she meets Mark Darcy…but shh! 

If I had to choose, this would be my second favourite movie! I think for the first time I saw it with my mum, and ever since I cannot help but adore it. Bridget Jones can always make me smile. And let’s not forget that I’m a huge fan of Colin Firth.

MAGIC MIKE

A male stripper teaches a younger performer how to party, pick up women, and make easy money.

The plot is kinda predictable, like with most of these films, but I think it’s fun. Plus since I’ve already mentioned my love for Colin Firth, then I must mention my love for Channing Tatum. Also, who doesn’t love watching half naked hotties?

SEX AND THE CITY / the movie(s) /

A New York writer on sex and love is finally getting married to her Mr Big. But her three best girlfriends must console her after one of them inadvertently leads Mr Big to jilt her.

Carrie Bradshaw is one of my role models. If you liked the TV show, then you like the movies as well. That’s all I’m saying.

LOVE ACTUALLY

Follows the lives of eight very different couples in dealing with their love lives in various loosely interrelated tales all set during a frantic month before Christmas in London, England.

As soon as the weather becomes cold enough to know that winter is around the corner, I watch Love Actually to get into the Christmas mood. Yes, I’m that person who loves to think in the middle of November that it is already Christmas time.:)

THE PARENT TRAP

Identical twins Annie and Hallie, separated at birth and each raised by one of their biological parents, later discover each other for the first time at summer camp and make a plan to bring their wayward parents back together.

Okay, I literally grew up on this film! If I haven’t seen it at least a 100 times, then I never.

THE LIZZIE MCGURIE MOVIE

Lizzie McGuire has graduated from middle school and takes a trip to Rome, Italy with her class. And what was supposed to be only a normal trip, becomes a teenager’s dream come true.

My favourite Hilary Duff movie! I rewatched the last big scene on Youtube a million times. I just love that song.

What are your favourite girls’ night-in movies?

I hope you enjoyed this post, and leave a comment if you were interested in more blog posts like this one! 🙂

Love, Fanni

 

Leave a Reply

